Representing the Interests of Aboriginal Peoples living Off-Reserve Since 1971.

National Chief and Vice Chief
Meet the Chief and Vice Chief

The National Chief of the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples is Ms. Betty Ann Lavallée, CD, (Ret’d), a status off-reserve Mi’kmaq woman who has worked all her adult life in non-traditional roles. National Vice-Chief, Ron Swain was raised in Swan Lake Manitoba, located 160 kms south-west of Winnipeg Manitoba.  Ron is currently raising 3 children in Bruce Mines Ontario.

Harry Daniels
Daniels’ Landmark Ruling Upheld

On April 17, 2014, the Federal Court of Appeal released its decision in favour of  the Congress of the Aboriginal Peoples.  The ruling reiterates what the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples has been saying for the past 43 years; that the federal government must recognize its responsibilities under Canada’s Constitution.  Read our Press statement here:PDF

CBC Interview on Daniels Win

Watch the interview between National Betty Ann Lavallée and Rosemary Barton of CBC Power and Politics as they discuss the landmark ruling issued by the Federal Court of Appeal on April 17, 2014.   The Federal Court of Appeal ruled that Métis are Indians under the section 91(24) of the Constitution and that non-Status Indians fall under federal jurisdiction. Read Decision here:PDF

Todd Russell, President of NunatuKavut, Receives Aboriginal Order of Canada Award at the 43rd AGA of the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples


Todd Russell, Presid…

Ni’n na L’nu – The Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island

It is a story o…

CAP National Chief’s Response to the Federal Government’s Action Plan to Address Family Violence and Violent Crimes Against Aboriginal Women and Girls

(Ottawa) September 16, 2014 — National Chief, Betty Ann Lavallée, CD., (Ret’d) of the Congress of Aboriginal People…

CAP National Chief Lavallee Pleased with Progress made on Aboriginal Housing at the Winnipeg AAWG Meeting

(Ottawa) May 13, 2014 —Today, National Chief Betty Ann Lavallée, CD, (Ret’d), met in Winnipeg with leaders from th…